BB Cream – The next big thing in beauty

This may seem like old news to some, but blemish balm – or BB Cream as it’s most commonly know – has become all the rage lately.  First developed in the 1960’s by Polish dermatologist, Christine Schrammek-Druiso, to sooth and hide redness caused by laser skin peels.  It then took off in Korea, and later spread to the UK and Europe.  It wasn’t until early this year that this cream was made available here in the US and Canada.

So what is BB Cream?  Think of it as a makeup multi-taker – offering a primer, moisturizer, light-weight foundation, illuminators, anti-aging benefits and sunscreen all in one.  Although most brands offer a light-weight foundation finish, the coverage is limited and so are the shades.  Most brands offer one, maybe two shades and they tend to be on the lighter side.

How do you know if this is a product you’d be interested in?

  • you don’t need a lot of coverage
  • you hate layering product
  • you forget to put on sunscreen
  • you have fair or medium-tone skin

Here’s my two cents on the topic.  I’ve only tried the Garnier BB Cream and I have to say, I’m completely head-over-heals for it.  I’ve never been a big fan of foundation and have always had a hard time finding my perfect shade.  I don’t need much coverage and love that it even out my skin tone without making it look like I have any makeup on.  My morning makeup routine has gone from 15-20 minutes (yes, I’m very fussy over makeup) to 5 minutes.  It’s taken the place of my moisturizer, sunscreen and foundation.  The application process is a breeze too.  Because it has the texture of a moisturizer, there’s no need for a sponge to apply.  Here’s the best part in my opinion – my face doesn’t look all dried out when I’m done the way it used to after applying foundation.

Now I want to hear from you.  Have you tried a BB Cream?  If so, which one?  If you haven’t, is this a product you’re interested in?  I’d love to hear your opinion and comments!

BB Cream - The next big thing in beauty

3LAB face moisturizer
$95 – nordstrom.com

Skin79 skincare
$9.65 – amazon.com

Clinique face moisturizer
$37 – nordstrom.com

Too Faced Cosmetics face care
$32 – sephora.com

Estée Lauder beauty product
$38 – neimanmarcus.com

Garnier beauty product
$12 – target.com

Skinfood beauty product
$15 – amazon.com

6 thoughts on “BB Cream – The next big thing in beauty

  1. I have been a long time user of Laura Mercier tinted moisturizer, but ran out so tried the Garnier BB cream… so far I really like it! Alot goes along way, and the dewy finish is really nice!

  2. Pingback: BB Cream Follow Up | Modestly Chic

Leave a Reply

