Frumpy to Fabulous

I know I’m guilty of doing this more often than I’d care to acknowledge. Working in an office environment all week, my general wardrobe consists of slacks, blouses and ballet flats (I’m also 7 months pregnant and refuse to wear heels of any height even though I adore them), but outside of work I practically live in my jeans and t-shirt.

I seem to have stumbled into that “frumpy mom” stage. I make an effort to look my best at work because, well, I work at a prestigious law firm and need to look professional. Unfortunately, when I’m home all I want is comfort which means my family (mainly my husband) only see me in oversized and unflattering shirts and jeans. It’s about time to make a little adjustment to my wardrobe and take my jeans and tee look out of the frumpy and into the sassy and sophisticated.

Here are some ways to dress up your jeans:
Look casual and relaxed while sophisticated by trading in the oversized tee with a colorful blouse.

Dress Up Your Jeans: Casual Doesn't Have to Look Frumpy

Dress Up Your Jeans: Casual Doesn’t Have to Look Frumpy by modestlychicstyle featuring oversized totes

Opt for a colored pair of jeans instead of your same old denim

Dress Up Your Jeans: Add A Little Color

Dress Up Your Jeans: Add A Little Color by modestlychicstyle featuring carrera sunglasses

Try a skinny jean

Dress Up You Jeans: Try a Skinny

Dress Up You Jeans: Try a Skinny by modestlychicstyle featuring leather cross body handbags

Ditch the tee and flip-flops for a blouse and sandals

Dress Up Your Jeans: Ditch the Flip Flops

Dress Up Your Jeans: Ditch the Flip Flops by modestlychicstyle featuring vintage jeans

If you love your band tees, go for a fitted look and rock the accessories

Dress Up Your Jeans: Grunge It Up

Dress Up Your Jeans: Grunge It Up by modestlychicstyle featuring a chain necklace

4 thoughts on “Frumpy to Fabulous

  1. I adore this! As a WAHM, I am constantly looking for ways to “get dressed” in the morning. The sad part is I work in direct sales for a fashion business. It shouldn’t be that hard, right? Wrong! Today for example: Jean shorts and a T-shirt. White flip flops and hair down straight.

    Thanks for these easy to apply concepts while keeping modesty at the forefront!

  2. Love all the looks you put together here! I am in a bit of rut lately with things being CRAZY. I love the colored jeans with the stripes, favorite. xo

  3. Pingback: How to dress up jeans « Knocked Up Fabulous

  4. I LOVE the green bag in “Ditch the Flip Flops. I recently bought a green bag and it seems to be my signature color right now. Love your ideas. I may have to pinterest you.

Leave a Reply

